SBL owners, help needed please

Hi all,

Naim newbie here but hopefully not for long. I’m looking at some S/H SBL’s and after lengthy discussion, it sounds as if the coupling spikes between lower and mid unit may have been tampered with. So I can confirm, can anyone tell me how long they should be or alternatively what the gap is between mid and lower? Obviously I need to factor in the thickness of the Ali pad but that will be pretty insignificant.
Thanks in advance.

The gap when assembled should be around 6mm, maybe 5mm or 7mm. Do you have a picture of what is causing concern? You mention the aluminium pad, which attaches to the middle box, but not the gaskets - presumably you know exactly how to put them together using the spikes, pads, gasket and silicone.

I’d suggest you request that information from the support team at HQ. If you were to adjust them, I’d do it using a piece of glass to ensure I’d got them all level and set at the right length.

1 Like

I don’t believe they are adjustable, I’ve certainly never heard of it. If they were adjusted to be longer they would then be wobbly in their threads.

1 Like

Thank you, yes I do and that’s the reason both I and the seller think something is amiss - when sat on the spikes, the underside of the mid unit touches the gasket. He estimates the gap at 3 -4 mm. As we both understand it, there should be a gap which would be filled by the sealant. Never seen the spikes but I imagine they are fixed length with a flange so that they are all the same height when installed.

Thanks Clive, I did wonder but wasn’t sure I would get an answer, are they contactable through here?

Have a look at this thread…there are some decent pointers in there and not a bad revision if you are attempting to re-do the seals…

I don’t like the look of nails holding the aluminium pads in place.