Selecting between a Streamer vs. DAC

I’m relatively new to Naim. I’m using a Nait XS2 integrated with a Naim CD player.

I’d like to stream through Spotify and Tidal. Should I be adding a Naim ND5 XS (or XS2) Streamer or a DAC-V1?

What are the advantages and disadvantages of both?
Thanks.

Go for nd5xs2

Up to date - will last you a very very long time

Forget DAC V1

4 Likes

I think the DAC is fine if you have your own music source i.e. a local server but for streaming an internet service you would need a streamer which could have an inbuilt DAC or you could use an external one. The Naim streamer is a simple solution to your needs where as the DAC would still need some sort of streaming device attached.

1 Like

Thanks

Thanks.
The ND5XS or ND5XS2 streamers have a DAC built in, I’m assuming.

Yes they both do. I’d highly recommend a ND5XS2 over a ND5XS especially if you plan on streaming from Tidal/Qobuz etc. The newer version of the streamer is much more robust for these types of activities.

5 Likes