Should an MC cartridge be replaced due to age?

I am using a Dynavector 10x4 in an Akito arm. I have just realised that I’ve been using it for 20 years, although the total number of hours playing time is probably not particularly high.
It has been suggested that the cantilever suspension ‘rubber’ may well have deteriorated/stiffened in that time, and that perhaps I should consider a replacement.
The cartridge still sounds good to me, but I’m willing to try the experiment, if it’s justified.
Is this a real phenomenon, or a (very unpushy) sales pitch from my dealer?
Your collective opinions will be appreciated.

20 years is really pushing it. Are you sure you haven’t put 1,000+ hours on it? Yes the cantilever and suspension can break down. Dyna run an exchange program, indulge yourself I’d say!

1 Like

Is this question unique to MCs or would it apply to MMs too?

I’ve also got an aging Linn Troika but with very low usage (I only put on for serious listening, not background). Still seems to sound fine but wonder if it would be as good as a refurb…

2 Likes

The number of years that have passed are not that significant it is the actual hours of use that is.

A cartridge that sat in a box for 20 years unused is going to be just fine pretty much.

A Cartridge that has been played for 2 hours a day for 2 years is going to be flagging.

A lot of manufacturers say about 1000 hours is the limit. I suspect this is conservative and many will last sounding just fine for longer.

If you can listen to some new ones you can get a comparison. If you end up looking for a change then a Hana SL or EL is worth listening to. As is a Audio Technica AT33 PTG/II. All of which are low output MCs but Hana do high output versions too (SH & EH)

1 Like

I am running a 21 year old DV10X4Mk2, in a Linn Ittok…

Its not broken… and has low hours so… not rushing…

YMMV, etc.

Wondering… has a cost… :thinking:

1 Like

Its absolutey useless. Scrap it. Send it to me. :smiley:

1 Like