So I got a 20 year old Headline and have a very average pair of Shure headphones!

I recently managed to get a 2003 Headline and I’m powering it with a NAPSC of a similar age that was previously running the control section of Mrs Q’s 202.
Both are about to go off in the next couple of weeks for a service, to give them back their youth. The big question is, what Headphones do I pair them with.
I have a pair of Shure closed back headphones that were purchased for my Electronic drum kit some years ago. They are okay, but I am certain they are not presenting anything like the quality of sound the Headline is capable of.
I have set a budget of between £250 & £750 to replace them. I have always been a fan of closed back Over Ear headphones and am considering the Meze 99 Classic’s, but the 109 Pro’s get very good reviews. They are open back and I have no experience of Open Back headphones for session listening.
I will of course be testing products over the coming weeks, but would very much appreciate any recommendations/views especially regarding the debate between Open and Closed back listening.
Thank you
Simon

3 Likes

For my ears, I have a bias toward planar magnetic headphones or electrostatics. For your budget, it would lean more toward the former. I like the Quad ERA-1 (£650?)but there are others of similar price.

However, given I do not listen to music much via headphones and when I do I still use my old Yamaha HP-1 pair, I may not be the best person to answer your question. The HP-1s still sound good enough to me.

1 Like

I use Sennheiser HD 650 with either of my headlines (I have both olive and black) and have powered each from one of my many PSUs - olive & black NAPSCs, and olive Hicap).

So I’ve rung the changes with the kit available and settled on black Headline and olive Hicap.

The greatest benefit is that the Hicap has an ON/OFF switch.

2 Likes

Still got Sennheiser HD424’s here… From 1977… :open_mouth:

3 Likes