Streaming advice for a novice

Not strictly as the title suggests as I’ve been streaming for several years but always from ripped cd’s on my Unitiserve.
However, following a power cut/surge/spike or whatever it was last night, my US will not restart. All I get is the flashing Naim sign. I’ve followed most of the advice on here such as powering down the whole system and restarting one component at a time, leaving it off for several hours before switching back on etc but to no avail.
Unless someone can come up with something else it looks like it will need to go back to Naim for repair.
I know equipment needs to be shut down correctly but surely it needs to be resilient to events out of our control, especially when you consider both the purchase cost and the repair cost.
Anyway, what’s done is done and I’ll be without the US for several weeks no doubt which leads me onto what do I do in the meantime.
Spotify or TIDAL seem to be the options for me (NAC 272/250 DR) so I’d be grateful for an idiot’s guide as to how they are set up and feed into the 272. Do you have separate apps or are they controlled from the Naim app? Where are the downloaded tracks stored - on my mac or in the cloud? From the limited research I’ve done TIDAL seems to be the best for SQ but would Spotify be adequate until the US is repaired?
I’m sorry for my lack of knowledge/understanding but I rather hoped my music collection stored on the US would be all I needed.
Presumably when the US is repaired I can carry on as before but it does worry me if this is likely to happen again. Is the equipment so fragile? Would the Core be a better upgrade or will that suffer the same fate - or maybe a different make altogether?