Technics or Clearaudio?

Hi there!

As I downsized again, to Atom and Nova, wanna have your opinion in this 2 turntables:

Technics SL-1500C
Clearaudio Concept Active

Worth the difference in price?

PS: Naim sound is just so addictive… coming back always, from Luxman, McIntosh, Mastersound… bravo!

Hi,

I have no experience or knowledge of the Techy but the Clearaudio I’ve heard and is very good indeed.

I’d also take a look at the Rega 6 and 8. Buy British and all that.

1 Like

I enjoy a ClearAudio Active into my Nova. Must admit I did not try or compare in advance… but am very happy with the performance. Noticeably improved by the external battery power supply, but was lovely as purchased. Plus it looks good as a combo imho.

6 Likes

Atom with Rega P6 here

5 Likes

I’ve been underwhelmed by Clearaudio TTs … just my 2 cents worth

I enjoy Clearaudio with my Nova

A lot will depend on the phone stage used - mine is a Graham Slee Reflex

3 Likes

It looks very smart, sitting there in its own terrarium.

1 Like

thanks guys, don’t wanna add phono preamp etc… keep it simple and enjoyable.

hahahaha LoL.

beautiful

You will have to unless you buy a TT with a built in phono stage, which is the Clearaudio Active or I believe some Technics have a built in phono stage,

The Nova and Atom don’t have phono stages built in.