Ten grand

Ive been listening to my 52 and 135s driving ob1s for just over 16 years and enjoying it very much but the enevitable upgrade itch has appeared the question is used 552 or replace the speakers with maybe t606s
I did have a month long loan of a 552 back in 2004 and didnt want to give it back but the then £13500 was more than my lifes worth .
With £10000 what would you do?

£900 on a muso QB 2 and the rest on lots of good wine and a wine fridge to keep it in until I was ready to drink it? (sorry)
Best

David

6 Likes

Buy an awful lot of records and enjoy the 52?

6 Likes

Buy a 552, they really are excellent as you know! The bonus is it will retain a fair chunk of its value also!

one option: swap the OB1s for used MB2s, or Fact 12s if the room is small.

What’s the source?

Is this to last indefinitely, or any likely future upgrades?

I’m still enjoying my 52 and 135s … I might just go for LP12

5 Likes

I’d buy my wife a lightly used Mazda3 because the engine in her Micra just seized.

Actually, I just did that!

3 Likes

By coincidence I had exactly this dilemma. Thought about a new Naim streamer and ps but then decided to give the 20k to my niece who has recently moved house, has a young family and is in desperate need of a new kitchen and bathroom. My ND555 and ps can wait :slightly_smiling_face:

32 Likes

I partexed 252/300 DR for preloved but serviced November 2016 552/500. Superb bit of kit even unDRed. Others find 52/135s a sweetspot. Good mains with PLs and racks essential for any system. The PLs don’t come with unDRed boxes so you might need to buy them first if you don’t have them. A 500 passive is the equal and more of 135s from what I hear. It’s fundamental to decide whether you want to stay active. Don’t know your speakers.

Phil

1 Like

Nice new Avatar Annalogg!

1 Like

Without knowing what the OPs source is the question is impossible to answer properly…

2 Likes