The Reggae Thread

Universal/Island are set to re issue the best selling Bob Marley & The Wailers Legend album tomorrow on its 35th Anniversary
As my first love is Jamaican music which doesn’t tend to get covered much in audiophile circles, I thought it might be interesting to start this thread and ask which Jamaican/Reggae music forum members like and why?
Records, memorable gigs, sound systems, record shops etc

3 Likes

Love reggae, and used to love playing it back when I was a drummer.

A few of my favourites are
Mighty Diamonds
Black Uhuru
The Cool Ruler
Wailers, obviously ( Rastaman Vibration turned my head around when it came out)
Yabby U & The Prophets - Beware Dub
Lee Perry, of course
Channel One dub
Sugar Minott’s first album

Last night I was dancing round the room to
Kingston 12 Tuffy - The Morwells
54-36 - The Maytals
Rock Me Dub - Linval Thompson & The Revolutionaries
(All on Trojan’s mighty Creation Rockers series)

I also adore The Eternals’ Push Me In The Corner…guaranteed to get me singing!

And Guardian Angel - Self Service Love 7"

Love this stuff - this list barely scratches the surface! :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I bought these four compilations over the past couple of years which are excellent value, not the best SQ of course but all the same very enjoyable.
Compiled and released by Dub Store Records from Japan on double vinyl, CD and download.

2 Likes

Apart from perhaps the very modern U.S R&B influenced reggae and Ragga from the 1990’s and 2000’s I love all types of Reggae and for me numero uno is Bob Marley.

1 Like

This one set the trend for space Dub

3 Likes

s-l1600

I’m not a big reggae fan but this is insane and my recording of the moment.

3 Likes

One to hear if you haven’t :

Prince Far I - Shake Up The Nation.

In fact the whole album:
Prince Far I and The Arabs:
Cry Tuff Dub Encouter Chapter III

Helluva track/s :smiley:

3 Likes