U.S. fees on purchases from England/Scotland

Not sure if anyone else from the U.S. has ordered anything directly from a dealer in the UK or Scotland, but can you shed any light on inbound fees that the U.S. would charge on the purchase? Also, who charges the fees, the carrier? I have never done it before and am contemplating buying some speaker cables from a dealer in Scotland. Thank you!

Also, wasn’t sure what forum to post this in.

Thanks,
Matt

This is hardly official advice, but…

I mostly buy my gear from the UK. In almost every case the carrier contacted me to pay the charges once the products were in the country. I’ve used both FedEx and DHL in the past.

There’s normally a processing fee on top of any duty; the latter will depend on the type of product/harmony code.

In my experience customs duties have largely been inconsequential for hi-fi gear, which is very different from every other country I’ve lived in.

I never get charged anything, but there is still a legal obligation to report the purchase and pay duties. I wouldn’t worry, in any case the carrier will let you know how to proceed.

For anyone contemplating an overseas purchase of hifi kit, it’s worth remembering that there are certain hidden costs when importing something from the UK to the US; for one, there will likely be no local warranty support. For two, anything means powered will require adjustment of the voltage; this can be anything from a simple switch on the back of the equipment to necessitating a re-wire by the manufacturer or distributor. Worst case scenario is the need for a new replacement transformer. So best do your homework thoroughly.

Of course, for speaker cable, you don’t have such issues, but if you do have a problem, remember they may need to be sent back…