Uniti Star > ND5XS2 + Nait XS3 > Supernait 3

Some (hopefully) illuminating thoughts on a demo I enjoyed at my local dealer recently comparing the UnitiStar to the ND5 XS2 + Nait XS3 and the Supernait 3, all through the same speakers and cables.

These observations are certainly self evident for many, however, I do think it’s still worth a quick synopsis for others who are possibly in a similar position I am -that is, starting with something from the Uniti range and thinking about what improvements might be had with a step up to separates. Within an hour, I had some pretty clear answers.

For reference, I’ve been living with the Star for over a year, and I’ve been enjoying Naim gear for 20+ years. I’ve also spent a lot of time tinkering with gear, building tube amps and speakers, and listening with a healthy dose of skepticism.

Starting with the Uniti Star through a pair of Totem tribe floorstanders, I heard the same good things I was used to at home: strong all round performance, good PRaT, decent bass control and detail, and a good sense of space and scale. For the money, I still think the Uniti range is incredible. The deficiencies are only relative… don’t listen to the higher end gear if you don’t want to know what you’re missing…

Switching to the Nait XS3 + ND5 XS2, everything was just better fleshed out, better detail, more space, better attack, better bass control, nicer treble, everything just sounded a bit more real. The differences were clear and obvious, but not extremely different from the Star, just better. I was already sold on the ND5 XS2 + Nait XS3, this was what I came in expecting to hear.