Upgrading to separates - is this really an upgrade?

I’m currently enjoying my Unity Atom. After having visited a friend who has a “proper” Naim setup (all separates) and hearing the sound quality difference, I was just blown away.

So naturally I’ve taken to the web to see what my options are to upgrade without my wife murdering me in my sleep. And I’ve come across a second-hand set that looks interesting:
A NAC-102 (Olive) with a NAPSC, a HICAP (also Olive, to use instead of the NAPSC?) and a NAP 200. I’m thinking to connect the Atom to the NAC as streamer and my phono stage (a Schiit Mani) as well.

Is this really an upgrade compared to the Atom? Can the Atom play nice with the NAC? Do I need the HICAP when there’s the NAPSC?

Staying with the single box route you could always upgrade to maybe NAIM Uniti STAR/NOVA.
I’ve got no experience on how these single box systems compare to separates, however.
Good luck…

2 Likes

with Naim, everything is … “not cheap.”
(although i think you get what you 'll pay for.)

Above Atom, the only worthy upgrade, maintaining the single box approach, is Nova.

2 Likes

A route forward might be the NAP200 as a first step. Then a second hand 272 or the replacement if and when it arrives.

3 Likes

Above Atom, the only worthy upgrade, maintaining the single box approach, is Nova.

If I upgrade, I’d rather step away from the single-box solution to be honest. Though I’ve heard the Nova with a set of Sonus Faber Sonetto 5 floorstanders and that was pretty awesome.

At least your vinyl replay would actually be analogue in that proposed setup. :wink:

1 Like

Just go full statemenet, it will be worth it :sweat_smile: