UPnP vs Airplay

Go easy on me guys as I’m very new to streaming. Ok, so I have the ND5 XS2. I downloaded Asset onto my Mac. I then configured Asset by allocating my iTunes music library to it so I could stream my iTunes through my HiFi. So far so good…no problems at all. I then noticed that I could also play my iTunes through my ND5 XS2 by simply selecting that ‘ND5 XS2’ in the speaker options on my Mac which I think is just using Airplay? So am I right in thinking that I didn’t really need the UPnP Asset to access my iTunes? Or is there some benefit in allocating my iTunes music folder in Asset? From a sound quality aspect, is there any difference using Asset or Airplay?

I guess in order to use the Naim app, I need to have Asset installed otherwise I’m limited to having to be near my Mac to play music through the streamer using Airplay? Have I answered my own question?

Hope I’ve explained this clearly and not missed any vital information?

Thanks guys.

Airplay is limited to CD quality, 16 bits and 44.1 kHz. UPnP can serve hi-res files to the streamer with the Naim app.

When using the Naim app, it is all under Naim’s control and you can be sure that they did everything possible to achieve the best sound quality on your streamer. Using AirPlay, not everything might be. I don’t know about AirPlay, but the Naim software director confirmed on the forum that the processing load on the streamer is higher with Chromecast than using the Naim app (because it is an inefficient implementation by Google that they have to use), which might have an effect on sound quality.

You are right, with UPnP the Naim app only instructs the streamer what to play and is not involved otherwise. It is sufficient if it is on the same local network. With AirPlay, your Mac sends the bitstream. So the distance to streamer may matter depending on your living situation.

Any effect of all of this on the sound quality is up to your system and ears.