What makes Naim equipment so "musical"?

So, I’ve been enjoying my NAC552/NAP500 for a few months now. One thing that really stands out for me (besides the additional control/power/detail etc) is the musical nature of the sound. I find myself thoroughly enjoying music so much more, which on my previous system, just lacked overall engagement.

The “foot tap” seems to happen considerably more often - take Little Bird by Annie Lennox.

What are everyones thoughts on why everything is just so “musical” - I suspect maybe the 552 has a large part to play here.

1 Like

It’s the old PRAT (pace, rhythm and timing) and this is explemplified in the Naim sound
There is also a lot of synergy with various Naim combinations, e.g. Naim NAC-N 272 & Naim NAP250.2 DR
Add in their own cables and again the sound becomes greater than the sum of its parts

1 Like

It’s pRat good old foot tapping pRat.

If you play any musical instrument and have jammed before then that’s pRat.

Brings you closer to the music and the musicians collective emotion.

You feel the bass guitarists arms flapping

The lead guitarist bending over the fret board reaching for that cord.

The drummer sweating while breathing heavily to catch his breath.

The singer holding the mic while looking to the side bobbing his head up and down.

You feel the bands right in front of you playing for you .

You feel you can Jam with them

It’s pRat, it’s Naim Audio

2 Likes

Its their attention to detail in trying to achieve this musical sound…nothing leaves the factory unless Roy George gives the sign off. Now retired i believe he still visits and listens. Steve Sells and the team have a passion to deliver very musical products, long may it be so.

5 Likes

Gazza, so your saying “Roy the creator” signed off S400?:scream:

Yes…some liked them though

agree when you match your system well in the NAIM range the music just shines through - i am at the end of my journey 252/SC/300DR plenty of everyhting

1 Like

Yes tis true