Why did you go for Naim?

I fell for Naim ever since I heard the Atom, I have progressed since then but why and what made you try Naim for the first time to get you hooked?

These were, and still are, my key reasons:

1. Sound quality & system synergy
  2. Build quality / reliability / serviceable
  3. Long running models & design
  4. Complete line-up for a Naim only system
10 Likes

Many thanks very interesting, I never thought about your last two points but absolutely agree. How long have you had a Naim system? I am pretty new to them only the last 3 to 4 years?

Simply the presentation of the sound - nothing else! The first decision was in choosing an integrated amplifier to upgrade my Creek. After comparing with two other models the Nait 2 just felt like it struck a balance best suited to my senses. That was more than a few years back!

Peter

5 Likes

It’s made locally
Build quality
Can be serviced (unlike my previous amps which are now no longer supported)
Attention to detail
I like how it sounds
And as I discovered retrospectively, after working there, I like the people designing and making it

8 Likes

In the early to mid 1970s I was looking for a new pair of speakers to replace my Wharfedale Dentons, running on a pre-amp and amp that I had built myself. I went to Russ Andrews in Edinburgh, and heard a pair of speakers (Chartwells, IIRC) which sounded hugely better than anything else in that part of the shop. I wanted to get them, but Russ Andrews persuaded me that I would much prefer a pair of Naim speakers (either 602 or 702, or something like that - Goodmans tweeter and Mordaunt-Short mid/bass), so I ordered a pair (without hearing them - madness, I know, but I was living in Oban, on the other side of Scotland). At the time, I listened to a number of other speakers that were outside my price bracket - Linn Isobariks triamped with Naim 250s. That blew my mind - really good. Also I heard Quad Electrostatic - also amazing, but lacking bass.