2021 - Prince Discography

This is something I have been wanting to do for a while and with the advent of streaming services I am hoping that this is now possible as I should be able to plug holes in my own music collection.
Simple premise, listen to the complete Prince Discography, in order, one album per week, for 1 year. I’m no expert on this but a quick read on Wikipedia and we are looking at 39 studio albums. Some of these are now released as super deluxe versions, such as Sign O’ the times which I think is a 6 disc edition - these can have 2 weeks! On top of the studio albums, there are the posthumous releases from the vault, live albums, collaborations and works written by Prince for other performers. That lot should fill a year! Some weeks will be more enjoyable than others (Batman, I’m looking at you) and some albums might need a bit of research or purchasing (Black album release anybody?) Maybe i will post a quick one line review of each album as we go along. Going to make it more interesting by listening each week on as many different combinations of hifi and formats as possible.
Anyway:-

Week 1 (Jan 1st): ‘For You’ - 1978 - ( listening Format - CD. Hifi - Sony CDP-X333ES/ Nait 2/ Kan)

8 Likes

Rather you than me mate… Best of luck.

1 Like

I have the HiRez version of For You from Qobuz & it sounds great :innocent:
Much prefer his older material & should be a good listen for you :+1:

Thanks…he’s not everyone’s cup of tea for sure!

Mate, I fully recognise that he was a musical genius, multi instrumentalist, phenomenal back catalogue and a class leading performer…but yes, he is not my cup of tea, especially over a year!

He did write one of he best songs ever though.

1 Like

You have my vote. Prince was basically god in my home.

Even the stuff that never sold was pretty darn good.