Are B&Ws a love/hate speaker?

I was just catching up on all the forum going’s on this evening and had read the B&W 802 vs 803 thread with some interest. Obviously at that level you’re getting close to the best on offer. For models down range, I’m interested to hear whether there are those out there that swear by B&W. As in have have multiple iterations throughout the hifi journey.

I don’t get a sense that there is a massive group that are big supporters, but also don’t see a lot of folks dismissing them either.

My own experience of CM7s with a NAD C375 was completely lacklustre - dull and flat, which I thought was a factor of the NAD amplification. Something more lively seems like an obvious solution, but I don’t see a ton of support here…

1 Like

I have no personal experience of B&W 'speakers, but the impression that I have - from what I haver read on this Forum - is that they present a very difficult load even for a Naim power amplifier, and that people tend to steer clear of them for this reason.

Of course, that impression may be wrong, but that is the reputation that they have.

that makes complete sense given my experience

Doesn’t “love or hate” apply to all speakers? (Well, maybe not necessarily those extremes, though superlatives seem to be the norm on this forum.) Some people love PMC speakers, others don’t like them. Some think Focals are great, others can’t get far enough away from them. Some love Linn Kans, others would hate them. Sone people love miniscule standmounts with no bass, others can’t stand them.