Aro tracking

Hi, I think I may be I having a bit of an issue with the tracking on my Aro and lyra cart. I brought a double lp the other day that has only 3 playable sides, the D side is blank. A friend of mind informed me I could check tracking by placing the arm on side D and see how it sat. So I did and wow off it went to the centre!
The cart has a recommended 1.6 to 1.75 grams weight so i have it set at 19Nm (1.7grams) on the scale that came with the Aro, the counterweight string (gut) on the seconded grove in from the pillar which is 1.75grams according to the manual. The only way I can get the arm to sit static on the blank side of the lp is to drop the weight below the recommended weight and move the gut to the very outside end of the groves.
Do I have a problem and need to get somebody in who knows the Aro lp setup or is this normal?
Iā€™m a bit concerned at the moment to tell you the truth. It sounds great any which way, I have zero experience with tone arms the Aro and the like and really would like to get it right.

Please helpšŸ˜³
Thanks in Advance

A blank disc is not the best way to check anti-skate/bias.

Set it as standard and just play some music, if the vocal is a bit pulled to the right then add some anti-skate, do the opposite for the left. Small changes only.
When itā€™s balanced you should have a soundstage that it focused and organised and natural. It should just ā€œsnap inā€ when itā€™s right.

It may take a few records to fine tune it.

1 Like

In a nutshell set it where it sounds best. I was thinking its got to be a precise science. I just canā€™t get over how far out it is. Itā€™s like somebodyā€™s got it really wrong and it has go to be me.
Cheers

The forces on the arm/cart/stylus will not be quite the same on a blank disc as they are in a modulated groove. Itā€™s useful to find a reference point to work from though.

1 Like