Atom and 40wpc?

I’m new to the Naim product line. I’m looking for an integrated streamer/amp for my next setup.

I like the features and price point of the Uniti Atom, but I’m concerned if the power rating is sufficient to drive my older set of B&W Nautilus 805 speaks (circa 2004). The specs on those speakers suggest 50wpc or more at 8 ohm load. I don’t have a large room to fill (about 4m by 5m with a rug and fabric covered sofa and chairs). I’ve been told the Naim products can provide more current than comparable brands, not sure how this translates to my speakers.
I’ve listened to both the Atom and Nova at the dealer on different speakers – the Nova was noticeably better, but the price delta was material.

Advice welcome!

Thanks,
T

I am shure that Atom perfectly fit to your BW805. In my case Atom is pared with B&W685s2 and room is about 24sqm.
But trial at home is best practise, request yor dealer for trial.
Edit: I didnt hear that Nova is noticeably better, more power yes, but SQ so-so…

The 805 is a top notch speaker that thrives on power. I’d say that the Atom isn’t up to the task. You want something that is both better and more powerful. The Nova may be up to it.

It’s not just a matter of power but also of impedance, dynamics and control, the B&W Nautilus 805 is a difficult load and tortures power amps into submission!

HH is right.

1 Like

Welcome to the Forum T_Seattle,

Not sure who you are working with in the Seattle are but one alternative may be looking at a NAIM streamer into an integrated amplifier. A two box solution vs the one box solution.

Have you thought about a ND5-XS2 with a NAIT XS 2 (70W)? This may be a solution for your speakers.

I started with a ND5-XS with the NAIT XS 2 a few years back and loved the set-up. Have you dropped by Hawthorne’s?

1 Like