Atom & NAS recommendations

Hello, newbie here having just got started with my Atom.

Progress is solid other than with NAS, where I don’t know where to start!

I’m looking for recommendations ref proven NAS device and any associated software it needs. I hear good things about Synology DS220j 2 Bay Desktop - but would be good to hear views from users.

My music library originates off my iMac where I’m in the midst of sifting and de-duping so I’ll have a clean ‘library’ tagged and organised (Artist > Album > Tracks) that I can drop onto a NAS.

I’ve tried using an aged DLink 2863 with little success - most artists seem to end up showing in a folder marked other, without their artwork - hence my desire to start afresh with new tech!

Any insight welcomed!

thanks

Andrew

Hi, the simplest option is to just use a USB drive connected directly to the Atom. It has a UPnP server built in (the same type of software you would need to run on a NAS if you get one) and you will be able to browse and play the music in much the same way.
If you want a separate NAS, the tried and tested brands are Synology and QNAP, running either Asset or Minimserver. Music storage and serving does not place great demands on the NAS, so pretty much any basic model will be fine.

1 Like

Hi Chris,

Thanks for the speedy reply - for some reason I’d got it into my head that a NAS drive was a better solution rather than connect via USB…

Are there any pros/cons to consider when comparing USB attach vs NAS?

Cheers

Andrew

Consider a Roon Nucleus and Roon software. I use both and find them really flawless.

My wife and I both enjoy using the Roon interface a bit more than the Naim App interface. And running a Roon Nucleus (which is really just a nas running their software) removes a ton of work on the software end of running/maintaining a nas.