Best Preamp for 250

Hello again
So I have just purchased a demo 250 from a shop in the UK and now need to power it and get a pre amp. I am new to this brand and understand there is a learning curve with the terminology.
What would be the best way to pair it taking budget into account.
I was hoping to pair it with a 252 and supercap DR but was too late with a second hand bargain.
So do I opt for an older supercap 2 and 252 or a very new 282. Or should I keep looking for the supercap DR and put this with the 282? So basically what is the best power supply/Pre amp for the 250.
The speakers are B&W 804D3. Rega Planer 3 and clear audio. Krell cd player.
Thanks for looking.
Cheers
Steve

Hi Steve, its down to preferences…i chose the 252 over the 282 and waited until my dealer was ready to let his 252/SC go ex demo.

It really depends on how much you want to spend and what sound you like. You mention ‘and power it’ in relation to the 250. The 250 is self powered but cannot power a preamp. The cheapest good match is a 282 and Hicap DR. Then there is the 282/Supercap and then the 252/Supercap. Choose whichever you like.

Remember that the performance of your Naim will be strongly affected by what it’s sitting on, and the various cables. Have you addressed these?

Another option is the 272 preamp. It mates well with the 250DR and would give streaming and internet radio, if those are of interest to you. It is self powered and you can add a power supply to raise its performance if you wish.

1 Like

Used 252 and supercap from a trusted source would be fine. Wish I had known about used quality when I bought my first Naim

Hi Gazza
Thanks for the reply,good option.

Thanks Hungryhalibut
I meant to say power the pre amp.You didn’t mention weather the supercap should be a Dr or not,is there much of a difference?

Forgot to mention I have good cables and interconnects which are Ansus.I may have another problem in that I use some balanced cables which I don’t thin Naim Accept