Cables for old Naim gear?

I have just acquired a NAP 250, NAC 72 and a hicap from a house clearance auction but they came without any cables. Serial nos 58,000 dating to 1989.

Although I’m familiar with hifi I’m a complete naim novice so need some help with cables and how to connect. Looks like 4 or 5 pin? to 3 pin to connect 72 to 250 and 4/5 pin to 4/5 pin to connect hicap to 72. Is that correct hicap just connects to pre-amp?

Any help with what cables I need and where to buy them would be gratefully received? I attach a photo of the back panels for info.

Thanks

Jon.

3 Likes

Hi jstan and welcome to the forum. Nice find, and a great sounding system you got there.

The cables you need are a 240° 5 pin to 5 pin din cable between hicap and 72, and also a 4 pin to XLR between hicap and 250.

Your local Naim dealer can source these for you.

1 Like

Hi Jon, congrats on acquiring a nice set up. The 72/hc/250 is a classic. I believe the cables you need are 5 pin din - 5 pin din. This goes from the 72 to the high cap (socket 4) and a 4 pin din to xlr from high cap to 250. Beware!!! the xlr is NOT balanced it is single ended

To connect something to the 72 you will need a ??? (depending on your source) to DIN5 (180 degree pins), often referred to as a “Lavender”, for line level inputs, or a ??? (depending on your source) to BNC if you are using the phono input.
To connect the 72 to the Hicap you will need a DIN5 to DIN5 (240degree pins) SNAIC, as this cable carries both power and signal.
To connect the Hicap to the 250 you will need a DIN4 (240 degree pins) to XLR.

Your local friendly Naim dealer will be delighted to sell you some :slight_smile:

Bearing in mind the age of the units, it would be as well to have them checked over before the big switch on.

(“K” mc phono stage as well, you don’t see many of those about. You may need to change them to “S” cards if you are using a non-Linn mc cartridge, or “N” cards for moving magnet.)

2 Likes