Chilli jelly

As there was no Test cricket this afternoon I made some chilli jelly.
Ingredients: water (50% cider vinegar) apples (curtesy of Anne), chillis (fresh from farmers market), sugar (darl and light cane sugar).
Equipment: pressure cooker, saucepan and digital thermometer.

This is my first attempt at chilli jelly. The pressure cooker extracts juice from the apples, and flavour from the chillis. I combined the juice and water from the pressure cooker with sugar and boiled it until setting point was reached. Setting point was 104 degrees C.

I’ll taste it later with some single Gloucester cheese once it’s cooled.

7 Likes

I would fill the jars to the top. The two on the R look like they could do with a top-up, as the air in the jar won’t help. Did you sterilise the jars before filling them?

1 Like

This is what I posted in another thread yesterday, it is from Nigella Lawson , but I have adapted it

150 grammes , deseeded and sliced chillies
150 grammes , deseeded and sliced sweet pepper
1 kg jam sugar
juice of 2 lemons
600 ml cider vinegar (you can et away with 500 ml)

I pair of plastic decorators gloves
six sterilised jars

put sugar in large pan , top up with cider vinegar
bring gently to the boil, when I say gently I mean gently, for some reason it sets easier that way
put on gloves and deseed chillies , do not attempt this with bare hands , slice chillies
deseed sweet peppers and slice
blitz chillies and peppers in food blender , but leave plenty flakes
when the cider has absorbed the sugar and is transparent , put in the chilli and pepper mixture with the lemon juice
bring gently to the boil
when it boils, turn up the heat so that it is a rolling boil
do not take your eyes off it for a micro second and manage the boil, so that it is always on the verge but never boiling over
Do this for 12 minutes -it’s a long 12 minutes.
Take if off the heat for 45-50 minutes
Sterilise the jars
At this point , you can stir the mixture and remove any seeds