Connecting Naim Nac-N-272 to Another Make Power Amplifier

Hi All, newbie here. I’ve been fortunate to inherit some rather nice hi-fi including Mark Levinson CD player, Sonus Faber Cremona Speakers and a Naim Nac-N-272, the latter of which my question is about.

I have some Maplin Millenium Monoblock Tube Power Amplifiers which I intend to use with the Naim but how do I connect them? I’ve looked at some info online but it only talks about connecting Naim equipment to Naim using a DIN plug but may as well be a foreign language to me.

Basic stuff I know but if anyone could offer some guidance on the best way to connect I’d be grateful.

Thanks
Mike

Not XLR but Din or RCA

The 272 has a choice of DIN or RCA output sockets, either of which can be used to connect a power amp. It’s generally best to use DIN where possible, but in this case the easiest way is to use the RCA sockets which I presume is what you have on the power amps.

Thanks both, my monoblocks only have RCA in. Would it be better to go through the Din ouputs with DIN to RCA cables (and are there such things) or just RCA to RCA?

Also, sorry to change direction suddenly but I currently have a Marantz network streamer and I use Jriver to play my files stored on a hard drive. Does Jriver work well with the Naim?

Thanks again

Yes, all else being equal it’s usually better to use a DIN instead of an RCA Phono, but the RCA may be easier here, as Chris advises above.

1 Like

You would need to have a Left and Right pair of DIN to RCA cables made, as these would not be standard off-the-shelf cables. Perfectly possible, but a pair of RCAs would be easier to find.

JRiver includes a DLNA media server, the Naim app should be able to find that.
Alternatively the JRiver control app should be able to find the 272.