Din to XLR 552/500 Super Lumina

Hi I am considering upgrading my std cables … I was wondering if converts could try and give me their thoughts on the change from std to SL. Does the change alter the system ‘balance’ or is it a case more of everything…or have users been underwhelmed…

I tried on nd555/252/300 dr. The 5 pin din to din replacing the Hiline sounded closed in and compressed, tried another was the same. The din to xlr was better, but not worth the money imo, so i gave up for the time being. Some say i should have tried the speaker cable as well for a full loom which brings it all together.They may be right, but if a cable or component sounds worse than my current set up and costs thousands…its a non starter.
So you need to try yourself, borrow some from a friendly dealer.

I recently put a SL IC between my HDX and 282. I am not very good at putting into words the change in sound but I liked it more. It seemed to make things clearer (not that is was hugely muffled before) if that makes sense ? As @Gazza says above most seem to think full SL works best so I am going to get some speaker cables and see what that brings to the party. I am in Essex and if you are close by you are more than welcome to borrow the IC and see what you think.

Hi Richieroo,

I borrowed some well run in SL/Din/XLR’s from my dealer and thought they made a bigger change than the Din/Din interconnect on my 552/500. I would say that they bring exactly the same benefits as the SL interconnect, more tonal/timbrel accuracy, better timing, greater frequency extreme’s etc etc. On the flip-side a mate bought a brand new pair and I tried them very quickly on my system but found them very dry and dark. He said they they took forever to burn in!

1 Like

I have just borrowed a set from Audio T will be trying them this weekend … I will feed back…