Disk won’t rip

Just tried to rip Boris Giltburg’s Rachmaninov Etudes-tableaux on the Unitiserve and, three times, the disk has gone in and not ripped.

I’ve ejected it using the paperclip method, rebooted the US and still no luck. It’s as if the disk is not in there.

Anyone had similar issues? Any suggested fixes or could it be the CD itself?

Many thanks

1 Like

I use an HDX for ripping, and on the very rare occasion that a disc won’t rip, I’ve found that a quick and easy fix is to use Titanium Toast to rip/copy it to CD-rom on my Mac, and then rip that with the HDX.

I’ve no knowledge of the US, but first thing I’d do is stick another CD in you’ve ripped before and see if it works - if not possibly the US is u/s.

Otherwise it could be the CD. Either damage, or some apparently have copy protection (which might affect sound quality). Try ripping in a computer - some ripping software will rip things with copy protection, I use dBPoweramp for ripping: no idea whether or not it will rip protected disks, but it has more intensive ripping options to try to rip disks that fir some reason are difficult.

What firmware does the Unitiserve have? If it’s still on 1.7b and you have been doing a lot of ripping, the queue of tasks for the defunct AMG metadata service may be so long that the CD never gets past the lookup stage. As has been said by others, checking ripping of a known good CD is a very good idea.

The new Unitiserve firmware 1.7c should fix this but you have to get the update CD from Naim or get your dealer to do the update. It’s not downloadable from Naim’s website.
Best

David

Thanks all. I’ll try ripping a CD that I’ve ripped before.

David - I’m on 1.7b so perhaps I should contact Naim to get the update CD.

Thanks

Dave

A previously ripped CD ripped fine. I tried the Giltburg CD (Naxos) straight after and still nothing so I guess I’ll try the 1.7c update to see if that fixes it.