DSP on Roon

What are people doing with their DSP settings on Roon?

I’m not technical enough to understand what I’m actually doing so am leaving everything as is and letting it chose the settings as appropriate on Tidal and Qobuz.

Am I missing a trick?

You neither state what your system is not what you wish to achieve. This makes it difficult to answer your question.

Apologies - my question was more generic than that and I was ‘just’ interested in people’s views and experiences.

I’ve only had my Nucleus for a matter of days and am very happy with it, I have no complaint but was curious as to whether certain DSP settings were used commonplace in the community.

My system is in flux at the moment as I am going through some upgrades but within a matter of weeks I will be as follows

Rega 6
NDX2
250DR
H/Cap DR x 2
Napsc
Wilson Benesch Arc (which I will be changing at some point in the next few months)

I use Roon DSP to reduce a room ‘mode’ and add a touch of brightness for my hearing.
I have Roon convert DSD instead of letting the Naim nDAC doing it as I prefer the sound.
AAC/MP3 radio I oversample to the maximum which takes the edge of the coarseness.

Other than that the wonderful Naim DAC does the rest
:slightly_smiling_face:

3 Likes

You are not missing a trick. Personally I don’t think the Naim streamers are likely to benefit from DSP shenanigans (such as upsampling), although you might consider room correction if you have exhausted the usual speaker position tweakery and any room treatment that might be practical and/or acceptable.

I’d suggest turning on volume levelling too if you haven’t already. It’s DSP, but not usually thought of as such. If you don’t like it, turn it off again!

1 Like