Electrical supply

Members. I’ve been in the forum for a little while now and I’ve been educated by the knowledge of you all.
For years my kit has been just plugged into a normal 240v UK domestic socket - and it’s sounded just fine.
However, now I know what I know, I realise that I’ve been naive, to say the least. Some of you have convinced me that this is not the thing to do, so being a little OCD I’ve decided to do something about this.
But what exactly. I’m not an electrician or an electrical engineer or a DIY person who will undertake such a task so what does one do. From what I’ve seen open this forum there’s two options.
Run a dedicated supply from the fuse board to a double outlet socket to service exclusively my Nait 5 and my NAP 150 or buy some aftermarket device to plug into my unaltered domestic sockets which will somehow smooth the supply and improve my sound.
In plain English (please) can you just advise me on the pros and cons of each approach.
Thanks.

My advice is to get a dedicated supply from a dedicated consumer unit. There are dozens of threads on this and I urge you to use the search to find them. In short, split the meter tails with a Henley Block, ensure the earth is taken back to the meter and then run a 10mm2 cable to unswitched sockets.

You could get a filtered block but in all probability it will constrict the sound and remove dynamics.

2 Likes

So that would be a separate board attached to the fuse board feeding a separate mains supply that the Naim kit will plug into. I understand that but exactly how will that improve the sound over the other methods you’ve mentioned ?

By getting your hifi on a separate radial you remove it from all the “dirty” electrical items in your house notably - fridges, condensing tumble dryers, hairdryers etc. It gives you a clean supply for your hifi, and as @anon4489532 has said before is the foundation for any decent hifi system.