Help! nDAC failure!

With each successive upgrade (the latest being the new firmware), I’ve noticed that whilst good recordings sound even better, some formerly good or even acceptably-sounding recordings suddenly drop into the “nause-up” category.

Examples: Better - “Stanley Clarke & Friends Live At The Greek”

Worse: “Rumours. Fleetwood Mac”.

Woe, woe and thrice-times woe…

Crikey. I don’t think I’ve ever had a system of any kind that made Rumours sound bad. There are of course many variations in quality depending on source, mastering, re-mastering, cutting, pressing etc.

Best I reckon was the vinyl 45rpm version released a few years back. However, on digital it was also very well served and there was even a rather good hi res version on DVD-A.

2 Likes

Agree, thats odd. FM’s Rumours is well recorded and - in my experince - always sound good.

I have a Nautilus LP remaster - and the official 3-CD set. Both are good…!!

Not “bad”, just worse.

The opener “Second Hand News” now has less separation between instruments and a harder sound lacking in bass definition, whereas “Dreams” retains it’s sparkle. Similarly from track to track through the album.

Jimmy Page’s Led Zeppelin remixes remain a desicration for which he should be hung drawn and quartered however, but at least that’s consistant.

Source is Qobuz.

Have you tried a proper reset (and power down - plug out) of the ND5XS2?

“Proper”?

Full. Worth doing in case the sound is off following a Fw update. Just be sure to save or make a note of anything you will lose by doing a full reset.

1 Like

… and that’s just hitting the “Reset app” function in the “Other settings” menu?

No, that’s just for the app. You need to stick a pin in the hole in the back of the streamer.

And for at least 10 secs according to the documentation. @MikeD check out the support page and search for reset:

No problems… less Fltwd M*c!