House fuse "clicks" off when switching on naim

Hi

as a few :slight_smile: might know, I am looking for a 500 DR.

There is a thought which had come up making me nervous a bit.
And its a technical one.
When switching off an on my system I often have no luck in turning it on with the first try.
When switching on the bigger PSUs (555PS / 552PS / 300PS,…) the house fuse “clicks” off (not main fuse - the fuse for the living room only).
I know that these transformers want a lot of electricity when switched on. I experimented a bit with switch-on-order, but no luck. When I first switched on 300 - also living room went dead.
When it is switched on - and I came through with the circle - on all ist fine!

The 500PS has a even bigger transformer - this frightens me a bit, that I even could get him switched on at all with the fuse clicking off every time. The 500PS has a 1.100VA transformer - will this work…

I am no electrician - FAR from that.
I googled that here in Germany 16A fuse is standard and as far as I read no other are allowed.

Is there a dependency between the size of the transformer and my house fuse going off? It has also happened when switching on SC or 135 - but more often with 5552/555.

Thanks for your help on that - any hints will be much appreciated.
Does anyone in Germany or other regions (do not know the local regulations for fuses) know this problem.
Any solutions?

THANKS for your help.
BR

It can happen in the uk. I have a newish NAP250DR, which can cause the same issue.
Best advice is to talk to a local sparky who understands the loads the transformer demands on switch on. A Naim dealer will also be able to suggest a workaround or the name of a likely sparky.
Without a clear understanding of regs in your country, any suggestions would be inappropriate.
Testing of the circuit(s) would be a starting point.

1 Like