How much does a CD Transport matter?

Hi. I am considering getting into CDs. I have a whole thread on why below.

I am now a the point that I am looking at CD transports since my NSC222 has a DAC and it seems pointless to invest in a new DAC.

My set is based on the Sopra 2, NSC222 streaming preamp and NAP250 poweramp.

So what CD Transport fits this set? Considering I am only getting into CD and have almost no CDs I am looking for value for money.

I went to my dealership and asked what would fit well and they told me the Cambridge Audio CXC would not get the full potential of my set. They opted for the Primare DD35 at 2.100 eu would be good. Is this sales talk or I ‘wasting’ potential sound quality with lesser transports?

Earlier I was considering Audiolab CD Transports that ranges from 600 to 1200 eu.

I still need to audition but wanted to get some opinions from you all. How much does the transport matter? It seems the DAC is doing most of the work. Do I need such a fancy Transport to get everything from the DAC in my NSC222?

2 Likes

can you get a loaner transport, take it home and compare to using a $40 samsung dvd player as a transport?

1 Like

That is very much for you to decide. Some sort of demonstration or home trail may help.

The Audiolab CD transports seem to get positive comments on here.

4 Likes

Audiolab sells online directly so I can purchase and compare. Yes. Good suggestion.

1 Like

Ten years ago at the launch of the Muso in central London, I was lucky enough to meet one of Naim’s senior mechanical engineers. I was left with firm impression that the quality of their mechanical engineering is central to everything Naim does.