Invisible metadata

A weird one. I just bought the new Bach Goldberg Variations arranged for small orchestra from Linn, in the 192k version.

The files have full metadata - I can see it when hovering over the files on the computer - but if I try to edit using dBpoweramp the files show as having no metadata whatsoever and no album art. If I try to paste something in, there is a message saying it’s not possible.

When transferred to the Nas and played using Asset all metadata and art is present and correct, and the music plays perfectly.

This is the first time it’s happened out of over 4,000 albums. Does anyone know what’s going on.

It’s a wonderful album by the way! I just wonder why I can’t see or change the metadata.

Perhaps you have bought DRMed data? Something like that never occurred to me but I have no experience with Linn downloads. Have you tried editing the metadata with another editor? What’s the file format, by the way?

It’s just flac. I have lots of Linn downloads and it’s never happened before. As it happens the metadata is fine, but I’d like to know why it doesn’t show and cannot be edited.

It sounds like permissions possibly. Try running dbpoweramp as admin. Though its curious that would occur.

I wonder how I do that? I’ve edited literally thousands of albums and never encountered this previously. Never say never of course.

If windows, then right click on the exe or shortcut and choose run as administrator.

How do you know that it is a flac file? Have you tried editing the file with metaflac (https://xiph.org/flac/documentation_tools_metaflac.html)? Perhaps it is simply a Linn error and the file is actually not a flac file?

When I hover over it on the laptop, a box comes up showing all the metadata and the file type. That shows flac, so it has to be. I’ve messaged Linn and will see what they say.

If anyone else likes Bach - and this is a brilliant album - they could buy the 192 for £15 and see if they get the same.