Loudspeaker recommendations

I am about to replace my loudspeakers and although I have read several threads that discuss this I am looking for some guidance as where to start since the speakers I have at the moment were purchased almost 20 years ago.

My current system in the NSC222 with the matching 250. I stream and also have a large vinyl collection and an LP12. My current speakers are a two decades old pair of Avalon Avatars.

What I am looking for is best described by what the Avatars do well and, in my opinion, do not. What initially attracted me to the Avatars was their beautiful detail and transparency in the midrange. The tweeter is really good although it can get slightly harsh on some material. Where I have never been satisfied in the handling of low frequencies which is quite restricted with falls off at a relatively high frequency (which is actually the design). To give you a better idea than talking about frequency response: I am a drummer and the Avalons can capture the initial fast transient of a snare drum but there is no body. This is particularly pronounced on the bass/kick drum which is reduced to “clicking”. This is just an extreme example but the lack of bass extension clearly impacts a lot of music.