Media server for Synology NAS

Hi everyone. Can I ask what media server software people are running on their (Synology) NAS’ and whether they are happy with it? I’m afraid my Unitiserve SSD, which I’ve been using quite happily for the last 4 years has been rather temperamental of late and is regularly updating the music store files. I have a Synology 218 NAS which seems to be fine and do recollect posts on the old Forum suggesting that Minimserver/Asset do an equally good job (compared to the Unitiserve) of serving music files. Many thanks for any advice given.

Vic

I’ve been running Minimserver on a Synology for a few years, using it with the backup folder for my Unitiserve. It’s been pretty reliable as an alternative to the US. However, now that Asset is available for Synology, I would probably go for that based on its reputation for being easier to set up. Minimserver is free (or by voluntary donation) and Asset has a free trial, so you could try them both and see which you prefer.

Many thanks. I’ll check them both out.
Regards

I’ve moved from Synology’s own ‘Media Server’ & Minimserver to Asset UPnP.
I started to play with Asset when it was still in beta, its now in a public release version.
I would now not consider anything else, its simple to set up, easy to understand & personalise in the config section. Its very forgiving of metadata variables (unlike Minimserver) it supports all the codec/format’s all the lossless types, lossy & DSD. Transcode is easy & faultless (not that I need it with WAV & DSD only) . Plus a load of other stuff I’ve not even considered. For me & my music, Asset UPnP is 100%

“…simple to set up…” sounds like what I need. I guess just I need to go to the Asset website and do the download from there?

Yes, try the trail version to have a look how it is, its free for about 30 days
Its a bit limited, but is a good showcase despite the limitations.