Morse code interference

my Neighbour uses morse code , he’s a ham radio operator to communicate to people all over the world, never been a problem using a Naim 5si, but just bought a 172 pre-amp , connected to the internet, and a 155XS power amplifier, getting terrible interference now when nothing when using the Intergrated amp, WHY? Anyone know?

I am a licensed amateur radio operator and have a Naim hi-fi system, so I have some experience with this subject. Did anything else coincide with the change in amplifiers? Did speaker cables change or get moved?
I have experienced speaker cables acting as wire dipole antennas and listening to my own voice come out of the speakers even with the hi-fi system unplugged and the speaker cables unplugged from the amplifiers.
I’d also suggest you physically removed the hi-fi system from the internet. It’s possible your internet cable is acting as a simple wire antenna. You can ask your neighbor to transmit CW on his radio and while he is transmitting, physically detach the internet connection and see if the interference goes away.

1 Like

You’ve got quite a few entry points for RF to couple into your system. What else is connected to it ? In addition to what’s been mentioned above, you might want to disconnect the 155 and try headphones with the 172 to see if you still get problems to help narrow down the entry point.

I’d suspect speaker cables and the 155 - it would be interesting to know the speaker cable lengths and (find out from your neighbour) what frequencies he is transmitting on when you get problems.

I think @Simon-in-Suffolk should also be able to provide useful input here.

James (licence long lapsed…)