MQA again

I went to Wilson Audio demo of their new Chronosonic XVX loudspeakers at a high end dealership in NYC last Friday. It was a wonderful evening and the sound out this system was spectacular as one would expect from a system that I suspect costs close 800K US dollars and meticulously set up.D’Agostino electronics and not sure of DAC brand but was MQA compatible.
The presenter was McGrath a long term associate of Wilson Audio and an audio engineer by trade. Still records. I noted that the MQA light was on for many pieces and I asked him about it afterwards and he said that MQA was “ a game changer”. When asked about Naim he was at a loss in understanding why they haven’t embraced.When I suggested that with increasing bandwidth available to more and more listeners that MQA may not be important since we can reliably stream in HiRes with any compression, he said that that was the least of the reason for MQA.
Don’t really want to start another pros and cons of MQA thread but an FYI from a highly knowledgeable person without apparent financial interest in that technology.

McGrath is probably paid to say good things about MQA. He is overly enthusiastic about it.

MQA is the biggest sham in audio.

I don’t see the point of MQA if you can access full hi res without lossy compression, no matter how clever the reconstruction…

It’s magic, Dumbledore said so before he died.

Ah!

My concern with MQA was principally in my understanding that the audio is reworked/remastered for the MQA.

Perhaps I have that wrong?

Peter is not that kind of guy. I have known him personally for many years. You could not pay him to say
something that he did not believe himself. He has lots of experience recording.

2 Likes

That doesn’t mean he’s not paid. It also doesn’t mean he is right.

2 Likes