Naim and atc scm40a

Hi
Complete newbie here.
I recently heard some Naim equipment and was very impressed. I currently own a paid of ATC40A active speakers and wonder if these could be used with the Naim ND5 XS or the Naim ND 555? what other items would I need to enable this the ATC,s . Has anyone got this set up?
Any help would be much appreciated.

With any of the ND players you’d also need a preamp. You could however get a 272 and it would match with the ATCs by itself.

Having owned a pair of ATC SCM40 mk2 passive speakers. I would recommend you go and listen to a Auralic Vega G2. One of it’s advantages ,besides sounding exceedingly good (no free cakes with it)over the 272, is that it has XLR balanced outputs. Thus, giving a direct connection to your ATC’s.

1 Like

As has already been mentioned the 272 is a viable option for active ATC speakers and I use one very happily with mine, the Auralic options do catch my eye now and again though…

I can recommend this Auralic/ATC combo, it is what I have now.
The Vega 2 beats the 272, on SQ even with an XPS, but Both sound pretty good IMO.

1 Like

Totally agree. I wanted to go to the actives, but had to concede that the passives, which I owned, were too much for my room. Gutted, because the Vega and 40 actives, would have saved me a lot of money.

You could try active 19,s smaller , may be better suited.

The 19a uses the same cabinet as the 40a so it’s no smaller. Possibly still better in a small room though, with the 2 way design.

That’s not correct. The 19 has a 19 litre cabinet while the 40’s is - no surprise - 40. The cabinets may be the same size overall but in the 19A over half is a stand.

I’m talking about the external dimensions of the cabinets, which are identical.

Great, thanks, it just read in a way that could be misinterpreted. By me anyway.