Naim V1 DAC into a Nait 1 - anything to watch out for?

Hello
Just purchased an ex-demo V1 Dac to stream from a Mac Mini using Audirvāna Studio.

I’ll plugging this into an old Nait 1, any tips on connection or things to look out for ?

Many thanks

I do not aim to push you down a rabbit hole but improving the source reaps benefits when using the DAC-V1. If you do a ‘MAC Mini’ search over at the audiophilestyle site you should find some pointers there.

You might want to experiment with the signal ground switch on the V1. Unlike the later Naim amps the early Naits connected signal ground to mains earth, so even if you don’t get hum issues, you may get a slight improvement in SQ with the V1 set to floating, rather than chassis.

The usb connection is purported to be better than the optical/coax inputs.

Thanks for the replies

I will be using USB out from the Mini

I have been using V1 for like 4-5 years now with my SN2 and in the beginning I used a couple of usb cables between my mac book pro and the V1 — Chord C and a Vertere one, forgot its name, but it wasn’t cheap, the one with 2 separate leads. Both of them introduced noise into the DAC, it was audible through the speakers when I was touching the lap top. I then swapped them for an optical one and never had this issue ever since, SQ wise there is no difference between USB and optical.

How old’s the Mac Mini? If it’s from the era when they had an optical output, I’d give that a try. Years ago I used optical out from a headless Mac Mini into nDAC and was surprised how good the result was. Ripping a CD to the Mac and playing the rip sounded better than playing the CD on my CD5XS. The improvement was small but consistent over discs.

Roger

It’s an M1 Mac Mini, so I’ll be using USB

Understood. It was a real shame IMO when Apple dropped the optical digital output from Macs.

Roger