NAP 135 with NAC 82

Hi All,

I am new to the 135s, is it correct that it is not possible for the 135s to be connected to the 82 directly, I will need at least a Hi-Cap between the 82 and 135s?
Thanks!

Yes, you’re correct in that you will need a power supply to power the 82 (In addition to the NAPSC).

A Hicap would do the job and provide the two DIN4 outputs needed to connect the 135s.

2 Likes

Thank you so much.
I have the 82/180 and recently got the 135s and just got them recapped and returned.
I guess I will need to source for a hi-cap now.

For me your source is not up to your 82 and your 82 is not up to your 135s. I realise that it’s too late now but an NDX2/82/180 should be a better system. Just my opinion of course and the addition of a Hicap will certainly help.

1 Like

I do agree with you and I do love the 82/180
I started from 90/92 since it was launched and slowly moved to this, long journey and more to go as the size of my listening room and ears changes. :grin:

3 Likes

135s are great - well above a 250 and roughly comparable with (but different from) a 300DR imho.

An 82 is good but will be shown up by/ not make full use of the 135s. The ideal choice here is a 52 - it’s what I use and I wouldn’t change it for the more modern 252. If you will get a 52 at some stage, it will need a Supercap, not a Hicap.

Given all that, I’d suggest that you do not get a Hicap now for the 82. A Supercap will make the 82 better than a Hicap can. Also, if and when you swap 82 for 52, the Supercap will still be the PS you want.

There is a conversation to be had on sources too, and you might well opt to make changes there ahead of swapping your 82 for a 52. However, getting a Supercap now (instead of a Hicap that you may well want to sell again fairly soon) still looks to be the right answer.