NDX and Tidal Master Quality Files

Hello,
I own an NDX and I have a Tidal HiFi subscription that provides access to master quality files.
I do see multiple versions of the same album (it is normal with ECM label productions) but the higher quality files do not seem to be flagged by the Tidal NDX interface. I do see the difference when I use the Tidal app on my iOS or Android devices, but I cannot (or do not know how to activate) the NDX from there. I would appreciate your help.

Regards

Giuseppe

Naim to not support MQA masters from Tidal as there gear does not support MQA decoding. MQA is a very touchy subject amongst some Hifi enthusiasts and manufactures.

Why is it a touchy subject?

Many detest it without even listening to it and thinks itā€™s the work of the devil because itā€™s a proprietary format that needs licensing and hardware to maximise it and there is just no need for it. Some dismiss it outright because its not truely lossless, some seem to think itā€™s a form of DRM, some just dont like the sound of it and think itā€™s too processd, others think itā€™s the bees knees and the best thing since sliced bread. Like most things in this silly hobby really itā€™s divided.

Most threads on it on forums melt down into chaos. To me I donā€™t give a hoots about it either way, I have 4 DACs that support it and cost no more for it they all added support for it as a free firmware upgrade.

When itā€™s mastered right it sounds as good to my ears as standard hires. Some do sound bad, but then so do there regular counterpart. Some sounded dreadfull as mqa and better as regular hires and had the other way to.

The main issue is you do need to have a full MQA compatible chain to get the best out of it and this gets people annoyed. But you canā€™t play SACD or DSD either either without the correct hardware.

7 Likes

Thanks.
I was not quite aware that master quality was a specific format.
What are the best sources where to purchase high resolution digital music files?