New study/home office chair

Folks, I’m looking for recommendations for new study chair to sit at desk. My current one is OK for occasional use but I have been working from home for 5 months now and as this looks set to continue at least into the new year, I’m looking for something more suitable for using several hours a day, most days of the week.

I need something with back support, on wheels, and I prefer mesh backed for coolness. Clearly it also needs to be comfortable for use over a working day and week. Oh and look reasonably smart and svelte, I like a nicely designed thing. Problem is, getting to try a range of these things in one place seems impossible anywhere near here, so wondering if there are any recommendations from you all?

It’s coming from my own money, no employer contributions, so prefer to keep an eye on budget and if I can get something suitable for less than £200, that would be ideal. However better ones seem to be at least double that (and beyond) and I really don’t want to go more than £400(!)

This looks like the sort of thing that would suit, the Sedus ‘Joy’ (nice) at £380 but would have to buy without trying first.

Suggestions very much welcome.

I’m also interested in answers to this for exactly the sane reasons.

I use a Varier Balans.

1 Like

Interesting. Warned off by 3 OTs I worked close to. I have a lumbar spinal issue between L3 and L5 with a small benign tumour in there somewhere which means no physio will now touch my spine so I have to self manage and get it right.

I have a dodgy back and neck and hip.

The Varier makes me sit upright.

And keep moving.

1 Like

From the workstation DSE point of view the chair shown may not be suitable.
A starting point would be the HSE website, where you can find a DSE checklist and leaflet HSG57 which shows dimensions and adjustments.
Posturite have a large range, the Homeworker Mesh Back might suit. You might have to forego the smart and svelte to prioritise your health and comfort.