Nova and Twenty5.26

Hi all, I am new to the Naim world and have been going through the hoops upgrading my old receiver/monitor setup. My room is 5m x 9m and I sit about 2.5-3 meters away, speakers firing long ways into the room. I have been able to get speakers 80cm out from the back wall, but past that and I will encounter problems with room layout.

So far, I have quickly moved from an Atom to a Nova powering AE509’s with a couple of T9x subs added along the way (run very on very low gain ~9o’clock, which is still lots). Excellent setup for vocals to my ear, but misses something on faster heavier music.
This past week, I have had the privilege of home demoing a pair of Dynaudio Evoke 30’s which added much to drums, strums and mids, but lost out a feel of airiness(?) on vocals. Back to back listening was night and day between the two. The Dyns improved with the addition of some Naim Speaker cables (up from old Chord Classic), which may have further weakened the lower-mids and impact of the Ae509’s.

My audio store (who have been excellent) has just sent me some Twenty5.26i to demo, on brief listen these have it all over the Dyns and AE. But at the price that’s no wonder. My question is if my budget can’t stretch to the PMC 25.26 is there something else i should be looking?

Thank you

PMC 25.24 or 20.26

When i demoed my Nova i listened to Kudos, Russell K, Focal……the PMC 25.26 grabbed me. If you like them it will be difficult to mimic that sound with a non transmission line speaker?

1 Like

25.26 three drivers largest model

couple hours listening so far, they certainly make my subs a tad redundant.

They do sound good, I am wondering if it’s too much speaker and if anyone has looked at Kef R7 or R11 to compare?

1 Like

My evoke 10’s took an absolute age to open up and sound airy. They were quite rolled of for many weeks then all of a sudden went crisper and more holographic so it could be the pair you listened to were not there yet

1 Like