Only in Norfolk

Seen in the Eastern Daily Press, a case of unfortunate naming:-

‘Save Happisburgh Action Group’ - known as SHAG.

Happisburgh is a village on the North Norfolk coast that is rapidly falling into the sea due to severe coastal erosion. From my time living in Norwich over 40 years ago, I believe that locals pronounced the village name ‘Hazeborough’.

For any Happisburgh residents reading this, I do appreciate the seriousness of your situation & you have my greatest sympathy.

Any other memorable acronyms?

6 Likes

I worked in a hospital engineering workshop, we called ourselves the Fast Action Reaction Team.
FART

4 Likes

Kenya believe it?

2 Likes

Bungay town in Suffolk (on the border of Norfolk) has the highest number of Satanists in UK.

Newly-released figures from the 2021 census show that Bungay has the highest number of Satanists in England and Wales.

The data shows that 70 people in the town and the surrounding - and apparently inaptly named - ‘Saints’ villages identify as followers of Satan.

Well this is the second story I’ve written about Norfolk only to find out (after writing it) that it’s actually about Suffolk.

So sorry to the OP. Anyway, I’ve written it now…

I don’t know if anybody remembers Tim Hunkin, English engineer, cartoonist, writer, and artist.

He had a TV series in the 1980/90’s called the secret life of Machines.

Every week he’d discuss the history of a household item and then take it apart and show you how it worked.

He was (still is) a very wacky English eccentric inventor type and lived in an ex commune (country manor) in (Norfolk) Edit Suffolk near Southwold.

He had been commissioned to design and build a number of automata type art installations for Meadowhall shopping centre to go in the arcade fun/leisure section above the food hall.

He’d farmed some of the build out to some of his wacky Art school friends around the UK and we had to go and photograph the different bits to show how it was progressing.