Opportunity For NDS or NDX 2

Hi all. I am new to the world of hi-fi, and am very eager to start down a path of quality audio playback. For some reason, I am very drawn to Naim products as a first choice.

With that in mind, my current playback quality is quite poor. I am considering starting to build my system with a quality streamer, because I am a Roon user and love the platform. The potential integration between Naim products is very intriguing. I have the opportunity to purchase a well-kept Naim NDS for far less than market value or a lightly used NDX 2. Iā€™m sure both offer supreme quality. I know that Roon is not compatible right out of the box with the NDS and would require some tweaking.

Right now all of my music is stored via external hard drives attached to my iMac Pro running my Roon Core, about 3500 albums of so. If you were in my position, which of the two would you go for?

Are you aware that you need a power supply for the NDS, this adds considerably to the cost?

Ultimately if sound quality is your priority then the NDS will outperform the NDX2 by a reasonable margin. However you will need to work around the lack of Roon compatibility with a bridge product or something like lms-to-upnp.

These are the considerations really.

For what itā€™s worth I chose NDS and have no regrets.

2 Likes

Some comparisons with NDS 555PSDR inncluded.

I had this choice some months back and chose the new streaming platform NDX2 XPSDR. No regrets.

G

3 Likes

Thanks and yes I am aware of the need for a separate power supply. I did forget to mention in the original post. I know I would also likely want a power supply if I went with the NDX 2 although it does not appear to be mandatory for that unit.

Appreciate the insight.

If you are going to utilise the USB output from your Roon Core (mac) into a Naim unit then I suggest you consider a Mutec 3+ USB or an Audiophillio USB/SPDIF interface. @Filipe is on a similar path.

1 Like