PC Monitors that reduce eye strain?

Chaps,

I am in the market to replace my current monitor with one that may be better for my eyes, if there are such monitors?

I am an Architect and spend about 6 hours a day, 4.5 days a week working in front of it, mostly drawing in CAD. Having briefly read up on the topic, I see there are available ‘flicker free’ screens and wondered if that was something that required much consideration when considering eye care. I presume there are likely to be other technical considerations that one should take note and therefore, I thought the Forum would be a good resource for those with practical knowledge and experience on this matter.

The budget would very much be determined by any known ‘eye care’ benefits…if this is something that can be determined at all. Having said that, I really can’t see myself spending over £350 as a guideline, although if there are any recommendations over that price, do please suggest as it would be useful to know as part of the specific topic of, monitors that have ‘eye care’ specifications built in.

Cheers.

I’ve always used NEC screens that can be calibrated for my photography business, but considerably over your budget. But they are a solid manufacturer so might be a good place to start looking downline. You don’t say what you currently have or size.

1 Like

You get what you pay for with monitors.

However, firstly I would get your eye tested to see if you need glasses or if already wearing a different prescription for monitor work.

£350 doesn’t seem much to me, I spent more than this for my current monitor some years ago, which I use for photography. I think to get a good quality large monitor you will need to spend significantly more than this. Dell sells some good monitors and looking at their website would be a good place to start. Personally I would choose one with an IPS ( In Plane Switching) screen because the colour rendition is more accurate with this type of monitor.