Planning Permission Objection

Just as life seems it can’t get any worse, I get a letter through the door advising me that my next door neighbour in a 1930’s residential area want to built a three story house in their back garden which is unheard of in my area and the style certainly out of keeping.

Anyone had any success in blocking a planning application - not sure where to start and how to tackle it in the best way.

My house is the one with the red circle

This is what it will look like

Hi Andy,

I’ve been involved in a couple of planning applications down the years, though I’m no expert.

Broadly speaking, the standard grounds to object can be summarised as :

• Loss of light or overshadowing.
  • Overlooking/loss of privacy.
  • Visual amenity (but not loss of private view)
  • Adequacy of parking/loading/turning.
  • Highway safety.
  • Traffic generation.
  • Noise and disturbance resulting from use.
  • Hazardous materials.

From the outline plan above, I’m assuming that access to the proposed dwelling would be from what looks like a cul de sac at present, which would seem to address the Highway safety and parking issues.

The Overlooking / Visual amenity / Overlooking ones are more tricky, and often come down to the opinion of the individual planning officer involved.

Sadly, as I once discovered, we don’t actually have the right to protect our current private view, no matter how any new structure impinges upon it.

It looks like you might be up against it, but I think the best plan is to visit the planning department to discuss matters, as soon as you receive notification of any upcoming application.

Sorry I can’t be more positive, and am quite prepared to be corrected by anyone more knowledgeable in planning affairs.

Dave.

2 Likes

Hi Andy, your privacy, being overlooked might be a worthwhile objection to use, but all the affected neighbours need to make the same objection.