Recommendations for Uniti Atom components

Hi, I’m new to HiFi but want an amazing listening experience both with speakers and with headphones.

Do I need a dedicated headphone amp for my Atom? If so would the Sennheiser HDVD 800 be a good choice? What headphones and speakers pair well with the Atom? I’m looking at:

Sennheiser HD800d

Focal Utopia

Meze empyrean

I’m using Martin Logan 4’s- wondering if there is a better choice for this system?

Anyone out there who can help with a recommendation on these?

I tried Sennheiser HD 800 S and loved them - for headphones. But yes it needs a headphone amp, the Violectric V380 was a fabulous fit to my ears. Probably a bit too expensive for an Atom though.

But that’s the thing, headphones are so personal. Not just sound, but fit as well! E.g. I thought some Audezes that cost twice as much as the Sennheiser were just awful. Others love them.

Most very good headphones need an amp as they are difficult to drive, such as 300 Ohm for the HD 800S, some even 600. But there are some (and increasingly many) that are more oriented towards mobile devices, e.g. the Hifiman Ananda with 25 Ohm, and the Atom should have no problem with them. Whether you like the sound of a particular model, nobody can say

2 Likes

There is no way to connect an external Head amp to the Atom as it has no line level outputs only preouts which do not mute the power amp stage at all so it will output to both and you will have two volumes to control with one on the Atom one on the Head amp and sound from speakers at same time. So you need to use the internal headphone stage in the unit or have a completely seperate headphone system from the Atom.

I would not go for any of those headphones woth an Atom its headphone stage is not great and your really wasting money on anything that good as it wont be able to drive them. Meze 99 Classics are a good match for the Atoms headphone amp.

3 Likes