Roon backup

Hi there folks
I’m new to using Roon. It keeps asking me to backup it up.
I moved my music library from my Qnap NAS to an Audiostore product and I had hoped to use some of my smaller NAS disks (WD Red 2 TB) as backup for it. I bought a dock for the disks and am now reformatting the drives.

I am a Mac user and have chosen Mac OS Extended Journal as the new format for the drives. However, I am unsure whether to use the Master Boot record, Apple Partition Map or the GUID partition map as the format scheme.
Could you please advise on what is the best practice? Thanks in anticipation.

The nagging it’s giving you is to back up the Roon database only. Roon does not touch your music files and leaves you to decide best practice to back these up.

In the main settings you need to set up a backup schedule to back up you DB. This can be to a usb stick, external usb disk, Nas,other network location or Dropbox if you have an account.

Mine is backed up to my Qnap nas everynight. I set up a shared folder on the Nas specifically for it. All you need to do then is add the shared path to Roons storage locations. In my case its \simonnas\RoonBackup you may need to add ipaddress instead of friendly name or format like this smb://simonnas/RoonBackup. It all depends on how your system works. I also after this schedule a backup to OneDrive from the Nas. So I have alway two backups a night.

For music files as they are on attached usb disc to my Roon core., I use the hybrid backup sync on my QNAP Nas to mount and access ROCKs SMB share of the music and copy them to Nas then again these get backed up to the cloud. It’s all automatic and I get full notifications if anything fails.

I suggest you read the kB on it not sure if rules allow me to post it here or not.

In the QNAP

You create an active sync job, this allows you to add an smb mount to your audiostores music storage as I assume it has access to add music to it?