Supernait 2 not doing it for me

Hi all, I’m new to the forum but have been a naim user for over 20 years, I have recently upgraded from a Nait xs2 to a supernait 2 and I’m really not enjoying the sound, I’ve tried a hicap dr and still no joy, I am missing the xs2 and think I’ve made a mistake, has anybody else felt the same about the s/n 2 sound, just doesn’t seem to have that naim prat that I’ve always loved,
The amp is fully run in and left on permanently.

1 Like

I have to say that I am well happy with the sound of mine.
I used to have the Meridian 500 series amp/tuner/24bit CD
First time user of NAIM brand, so far so good.
The xs2 looks very similar in spec, yet the SN2 is more powerful …just
Suprised, but as I said I am new to this and decided to get the SN2 as my first starting point.
B

Maybe if it had been my first naim amp I would have loved it but I feel that the xs2 is a much more involving sound.

1 Like

Hi

What is your source? Changing from Nait XS to SN2 should be a significant upgrade, so it is possible that the new amp is showing up a weakness in your source. A few other details might help: is the amp new or second hand, did you audition first and if so did it sound good then? Of course, you might just prefer the sound of the XS; you wouldn’t be the first.

Roger

2 Likes

Hi Roger, I’m using a lp12 and a nd5xs, speakers are dynaudio contour 1.3 mk2, the xs2 and supernait2 were both ex demo from the same dealer, I just feel the xs2 had a better control over the speakers.

A different amp can change the way your speakers interact with the room. Others have reported the need to adjust speaker positions accordingly.

Worth a try.

Nick

1 Like

Thanks Nick, will give it a go.