Supernait 3, strange overheat

Hello to everyone.
Yesterday i was listening music with a friend of mine. After 1,5 hours of listening sn3 stopped playing for about 20 seconds & the cd knob was blinking.
Once it stopped blinking i stopped playing music for about 10 minutes.
When i started playing music again everything was back to normal.
I read the manual & figured out that it happened due to excess temperature. Yes the case of the sn3 was a bit warm but i wouldn’t say it was extremely hot.
Strange thing is that volume knob was all of the time between 9 to 10 o’clock max.
Is it normal to overheat playing at this volume?
I have the amp 4 years now & never again had this issue, even when playing at 11 o’clock on hot days in summer.

Edit: my system is sn3, hicap dr, ovator s-600, goldnote ph-10 & clearaudio performance dc tt.

It doesn’t seem normal. The Ovators aren’t super hard to drive. It doesn’t sound like you were going crazy with the volume and the setup doesn’t have unusual components or cables in it.

Was it a piece of music you had played before?

I’d wait and see if it was a one off or if it is the start of a pattern. If the latter, may be worth asking the dealer to check it out.

You mentioned listening with a friend. This reminds me of discs my mates would being over in the 90s. Fringe heavy metal and house groups were always issuing discs designed to break hifi (on purpose) by doing truly unnatural things. Like high amplitude sustained bass frequencies at 40Hz or CDs that had 99 tracks and the TOC put the tracks in non linear order to strain the mech.

1 Like

That does seem a bit strange, i quite often have my SN3 at 9 to 10 o’clock driving n-SATs for long periods without it even breaking a sweat, even in a very warm environment. Are all connections properly home & NAC A5 properly terminated with SA8s? Tread carefully, see if it happens again. Maybe the best advice here is to have it checked over at the dealership.