The Primare NP5 Chromecast misconception

Last week I bought an NP5 streamer, due mainly to the positive reports of other forum members. Thank you all.
I’ve been considering buying one for a couple of months, but was put off by the fact Qobuz is only available via chromecast. Surely streaming wireless to a phone or tablet, then onto the streamer using chromecast won’t sound very good.

However, people are saying qobuz does sound very good; people are saying the NP5 improves the sound quality of Naim legacy streamers.

So, after 4 days I’m amazed how good it sounds steaming qobuz into my Ndac, and that’s with the low quality power supply it’s supplied with.

I’m also amazed to discover, chromecasting qobuz doesn’t go through the router, mobile/tablet then onto the streamer. It streams from the router direct to the NP5,

So, it’s basically Qobuz connect. I open the Qobuz app, select what I want to play, select the NP5 streamer, and it streams direct to the steamer.

Strange thing is, there is no mention of how chromecast actually works in any of the promo videos or reviews. The uninformed (like myself) would think it offered very poor sound quality. But it doesn’t. :grinning:

2 Likes

I recently bought one of these. The Chromecast does downsample the 192k files. There is an update due shortly to integrate Qobuz into the app

Run mine into both a Qutest and a Rega Dac and its fine. App is a bit confusing- with replacing rather than deleting whats in the queue

Waiting to see what the updates bring

1 Like